Josef Holbrooke Symphonic Poems, Vol. 2

Josef Holbrooke (born Joseph Holbrook) had his first success in 1900 with the premiere of his orchestral poem “The Raven.” Before that, he’d been an accompanist, music teacher, and itinerate conductor kicking about the UK.

But the recognition went to his head. Although frequently performed in the era before World War I, Holbrooke didn’t make many friends.

He often attacked critics and even his audience. “Mr. Josef Holbrooke steps forward somewhat adventurously… to an apathetic public, and hopes to receive as few blows as possible (with the usual financial loss) in return,” he wrote for a concert program.

After the war, his music was seen as increasingly old-fashioned. And without supporters, it soon disappeared from the English concert repertoire.

So how does Holbrooke’s work sound today? It’s definitely music of its time — but some of the best-constructed music of that time.

The 1906 “Variations on “Auld Lang Syne” are quite imaginative. Inspired by Elgar’s “Enigma” Variations, Holbrooke created twenty variations, each a portrait of a friend. While not on par with “Enigma,” the variations do go in unexpected directions.

They remind me of Charles Ives’ treatment of “America,” as some variations have a hint of music hall and other popular music. I’m surprised this hasn’t become a classical radio staple for New Year’s Eve.

A 1917 review of Holbrooke’s violin concerto claimed, “Here the composer was at his best: the music may almost be said to be overflowing with milk and honey.” The harmonies are certainly rich enough. And while the melodies are sweetly beautiful, the violinist is presented with plenty of challenges. Violinist Judith Ingolfsson’s exciting performance keeps the milk and honey to a minimum, letting the structure of the work shine through the sentimentality.

Holbrooke’s breakout composition, “The Raven” reflected his love of Edgar Allen Poe.
I think it’s the weightiest work of the album. Holbrooke was once called the “Cockney Wagner,” and there are echoes of “Tristan and Isolde” in this work.

Like Wagner’s score, there’s an underlying sense of disquiet and tragedy running through the score. A disquiet that’s in tune with the timbre of the poem. Of the three works on this release, “The Raven” was the one I returned to most often.

Josef Holbrooke: Symphonic Poems, Vol. 2
Concerto for Violin and Orchestra, Op. 59 “The Grasshopper”; “The Raven” Poem No. 1 for Orchestra, Op. 25; “Auld Lang Syne” Variations No. 3 for Orchestra, Op. 60
Judith Ingolfsson, violin; Brandenburgisches Staatsorchester Frankfurt; Howard Griffiths, conductor
CPO 777 636-2

More Recent Posts

  • Sam Reider and The Human Hands stop by WTJU, May 3

    Sam Reider and The Human Hands will stop by WTJU Thursday afternoon, May 3, at 5 (edt) for a live session ahead of their concert that evening at The Front Porch. Jazz pianist turned roots musician, Sam Reider is redefining American music on the accordion. He has been featured at Lincoln Center and on NPR, […]

  • Patterson Barrett swings by WTJU, April 30

    Austin, Texas artist Patterson Barrett will stop by WTJU on Monday afternoon, April 30, at 4 for a live session.  He is currently doing a national tour in support of his latest release, Give Em What They Want. Patterson Barrett moved to Austin shortly after appearing on Jerry Jeff Walker’s eponymous first release on MCA […]

  • Greg C. Brown stops by WTJU, May 1

    Greg C. Brown will stop by WTJU on Tuesday afternoon, May 1, around 5 (edt) for a live session during Around This Town.  He will perform a few pieces from his upcoming classical guitar album.  You can also catch Greg and his full jazz and blues band on the May 18 edition of Lambeth Live.

  • Heinrich Schütz Symphoniae Sacrae I – Models of Clarity

    Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

    Heinrich Schütz published three volumes of his Symphoniae Sacrae. Hans-Christoph Rademann and Carus continue their traversal of Schütz’s catalog with Symphoniae Sacre I. This 1629 collection of works reflects Schütz’s time in Venice. While there, he studied with Giovanni Gabrielli and Claudio Monteverdi. The influences of both are apparent in these settings of the Songs […]

  • New Jazz Adds – 4/23/2018

    New Jazz Adds – 4/23/2018 Jakob Bro – Returnings (ECM): This new disc from Jakob Bro (guitar) features Palle Mikkelborg (trumpet, flugelhorn), Thomas Morgan (bass) and Jon Christensen (drums). Bro has performed with Thomas Morgan for quite some time and he was delighted to continue his association with Jon Christensen. Furthermore, it also reunites Christensen […]

  • Atlantic Weekly at City Market, April 28

    Coming up this Saturday morning, April 28, from 8 til noon, Atlantic Weekly returns to the Charlottesville City Market for another season of live broadcasts!  Besides the usual great music and conversation with some of the local vendors, there might even be some live music. While you can of course just listen on WTJU as […]