The Deceptively Easy Mastery of Gilbert Kalish

In this recording of Haydn, Beethoven and Schubert, Gilbert Kalish presents an appealing program of works he knows well. The opening and closing works are the final piano sonatas of their respective composers — Haydn and Schubert, with a selection of short works by Beethoven in the middle.

Haydn’s Sonata No. 62 in E-flat (Hob.XVI:52)  was composed for a gifted performer, and is one of Haydn’s more complex piano works. Nonetheless, Kalish keeps things light and elegant. His well-rounded phrasing and subtle emphasis captures Haydn’s reserved elegance perfectly.

Kalish also plays Franz Schubert’s Piano Sonata No. 21 in B-flat, D. 960 in a slightly reserved fashion — but it works. Rather than overwhelming the listener with emotion, Kalish’s performance reveals the beautiful construction of the work. One hears the intricate patterns and lines of the sonata, rather than a furious rush of notes.

The Bagatelles, Op. 119 of Beethoven balance nicely with the two sonatas. These are short, relatively simple works (by Beethoven standards). Each bagatelle is lovingly performed by Kalish, turned into miniature gems by his musicianship.

Kalish plays with the fluid assurance that comes from a lifetime of music-making. He isn’t trying to prove anything, or even assert his personality. He just plays, and it sounds like he’s enjoying every moment. As did I.

Franz Joseph Handy: Sonata No. 62 in E-flat, Hob.XVI;52; Ludwig van Beethoven: Bagatelles, Op. 119; Franz Schubert: Piano Sonata No. 21 in B-flat, D.960
Gilbert Kalish, piano
Bridge Records

More Recent Posts

  • Sculthorpe: Compete String Quartets with Didjeridu

    Peter Sculthorpe’s music captures the Australian character as completely as Aaron Copland’s does the American. In his compositions for string quartet and didjeridu, Sculthorpe highlights the tensions between the indigenous aborigines of Australia and the encroachment of Western settlers. The string quartet is a distinctively European invention, the didjeridu an Australian. And yet Sculthorpe skillfully […]

  • Deborah Murray’s finale on Classical Sunrise

    This Sunday, please remember to tune in to Classical Sunrise, 6-9 am, here on WTJU-Charlottesville. After 15 years, Deborah Murray is bowing out as host of the program, and this will be her last show. Deborah has been an outstanding station volunteer, not only hosting a program, but also serving as Classical Department Director. She […]

  • The Vivace Christmas Special

    This Friday, we’ll broadcast the Vivace Christmas Show, a mixture of classical and Christmas music. We start with the Czech Christmas Eve Mass by Jan Ryba, a perennial favorite, followed by some piano music by Beethoven. We’ll devote the first part of the 7 o’clock hour to Suites 3 and 4 of The Many Moods […]

  • Martin Boykan – Music for Piano (1986-2007)

    Martin Boykan’s music is rigorously 12-tone, but that doesn’t mean it’s academic nor mechanistic. His music breathes, expanding and contracting in a naturalistic flow. While there are some abrupt changes in dynamics and tempo, often the music smoothly transitions from one emotional state to the next. This album features four piano works by Boykan, It […]

  • New Blues Adds – 12/15/2014

    New Blues News – 12/15/2014 Blue Lunch – Above The Fold (Rip Cat):  Eight piece veteran band from Cleveland delivers a variety of blues, retro swing, r&b, and even gospel!  The playing is smooth and tight, the sound is generally mellow, and 12 of the 15 songs are originals.  The group includes Bob Frank (guitar, […]

  • George Ensecu Complete Works for Violin and Piano

    Among his many talents, Romanian composer George Enescu was a violinist and a pianist — which makes the music on this 2-CD set so fascinating. The larger works, such as his three sonatas for violin and piano are the Enescu of the symphonic world. Like his orchestral works, the three sonatas feature flowing melodies, harmonies […]