Psalmen & Friedensmusiken ends Heinrich Schutz series on a strong note

The Carus traversal of Heinrich Schutz works ends with a collection of commissioned works. For the most part, the music on this 2 CD set marks important occasions in the Dresden court. Some were commissioned for birthdays, others for treaty signings, and so on.

Schutz studied in Venice with Giovanni Gabrielli (and perhaps with Claudio Monteverdi). There are many elements of Gabrielli’s style in these works. Small choirs echo each other across space. Sometimes they’re also treated contrapuntally. The extensive use of brass adds a noble air.

If you’ve been following the series, you’ll hear many familiar voices. Dorothee Mields, Gerlinde Sämann, David Erler, and Georg Poplutz (just to name a few) deliver fine performances. In fact, everyone involved maintains the same high performance standards set by earlier recordings in the series.

After 19 volumes, these artists and ensembles have internalized Schutz’s style — and Hans-Christoph Rademann’s interpretation of it. As always, these are models of clarity. No matter how complex Schutz’s writing, vocal lines sound clean and transparent.

The release even includes a world premiere recording, “Trostlied” SWV 502. This simple and beautiful work was written in memorium for an infant. It’s Schutz at his most personal, and a fine way to end the series.

Heinrich Schutz: Psalmen & Friedensmusiken
Complete Recording, Vol. 20
Gerlinde Sämann, Isabel Schicketanz, sopranos; Maria Stosiek, Dorothee Mields, mezzo-sopranos;
David Erler, Stefan Kunath, counter-tenors; Georg Poplutz, Tobias Mäthger, tenors; Felix Schwandtke, bass; Martin Schicketanz, baritone
Dresdner Kammerchor, Hans-Christoph Rademann, director|
Carus 83.278 2 CD Set

More Recent Posts

  • New Jazz Adds – 10/15/2019

    New Jazz Adds – 10/15/2019 Royce Campbell – Organ Trio (Self-produced): Royce Campbell offers his 33rd release under his own direction and he has performed with such jazz guitar greats as Pat Martino, Herb Ellis, Tal Farlow, Jimmy Raney, John Abercrombie, Larry Coryell, Mundell Lowe, John Pisano, Charlie Byrd, Gene Bertoncini, and Bucky Pizzarelli and […]

  • WTJU presents: The Flamin’ Groovies on Halloween night, Oct 31

    Celebrate Halloween night with some garage rock / power pop / throwback rock-n-roll. The Flamin’ Groovies are coming to town! WTJU presents: Halloween with the Flamin’ Groovies on Thursday, October 31 at The Southern Cafe & Music Hall. Local favorites New Boss and The Gladstones open the show. Ticket sales benefit WTJU. Get your tickets […]

  • Telemann Moral Cantatas uplift — at least musically

    Tags: , , , , , , , ,

    This release combines selections from two self-published works by Georg Philipp Telemann. VI moralische Cantaten and 12 Fantaisies pour la basse de violle sold by subscription in 1735. Alternating between the two collections makes an appealing program. The Six Moral Cantatas are just that — music with a message. And whether the subject is luck, parsimony, time, or hope, the message […]

  • Kait Dunton and Jake Reed explore Planet D’earth, Oct 17

    Pianist Kait Dunton and drummer Jake Reed will join Rus Perry Thursday morning, October 17, at 9 a.m. to talk about the east coast album release concert for their new disc, “Planet D’earth.”  The concert will be later that night at 10PM at Miller’s Downtown and will feature John D’earth on trumpet, Dane Alderson on […]

  • Dane Alderson & John D’earth get to the Bass of Musical Commons, Oct 15

    Tags: , , , ,

    Every Tuesday at 8 p.m., WTJU hosts a free evening of cross-genre improvised music… If you haven’t been yet you can’t miss this week! This Tuesday, Oct 15, John D’earth is joined by electric bass virtuoso and bass player of the The Yellowjackets, Dane Alderson. The two will host a masterclass with the Jazz Ensemble and the general […]