Canadian Panorama showcases contemporary talent

Canadian Panorama marks Canada’s 150th Anniversary with an outstanding variety of native classical music. It’s the first commercial recording of the Winds of the Scarborough Philharmonic Orchestra. It’s a release of new music for wind ensemble. And it’s also a survey of living Canadian composers that are both diverse and inviting.

Happily, Canadian Panorama succeeds on all levels. The music is both accessible and well-written. While all the works are tonal, many are quite substantial. All yield additional insights with repeated listens.

Some works draw on Canadian folk traditions. Chris Meyer’s “Fundy: A Poem of Wind and Waves” references Celtic folk music. Alex Eddington blends several folk songs together for “Saturday Night at Fort Chambly.”  Howard Cable’s “McIntyre Ranch Country” uses cowboy tunes common to both the American and Canadian west.

Ronald Royer’s “Travels with Mozart” mine classical music’s common heritage (in this case, “The Magic Flute.”). As does John S. Gray’s “Allemand” and Alexander Rapoport’s “Whirligig.” Both are also exceptionally well-written works.

The winds of the Scarborough Philharmonic Orchestra has a rich ensemble sound I don’t normally encounter with wind ensembles. This compact group is filled with first-rate players. They step forward for solos, then blend seamlessly together as an ensemble.

If you like wind ensemble music, this disc is for you. If you want to further explore Canadian music, this disc is for you. Heck, if you just want a great listening experience, Canadian Panorama is a disc for you.

Canadian Panorama
World Premiere Recordings
Winds of the Scarborough Philharmonic Orchestra
Ronald Royer, conductor
Cambria CD-1227

More Recent Posts

  • 44 Trumpet Master Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah – Looking Forward

    Tags: , , , ,

    Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah Since he began recording at nineteen, now thirty-eight year old Christian Scott ATunde Adjuah has been developing one of the most distinguishable trumpet sounds in jazz or as he prefers “creative improvised music.” A nephew of alto saxophonist Donald Harrison, Jr., he is graduate of the storied New Orleans Center for […]

  • New Blues News – 6/15/2021

    New Blues News – 6/15/2021 Caroline Dahl – A Boogie Woogie State Of Mind (Self-produced): Pianist Caroline Dahl is a native of Kentucky but has made San Francisco her home for thirty years, playing both solo and in bands. On her latest disc she is joined by a slew of Bay Area stalwarts, including two […]

  • Classical Interviews – Broadway in the Park

    Charlottesville Opera performed Broadway favorites like ‘Dear Evan Hansen’ and ‘From My Fair Lady’ on Saturday, June 12th. Sharin Apostolou, a greek-american soprano and Charlottesville Opera’s Ader Artist-in-Residence, tells us about the event. She spoke to WTJU about the cast’s backgrounds, the shift back to in-person performances, and the Open Air Season. The Open Air […]

  • Classical Interviews – Opera In The Park

    Charlottesville Opera presents Opera in the Park this week as as part of their 43rd Summer Season. Grab a ticket to hear 10 young artists preform the world’s greatest opera hits on June 17th at 7pm and check out the rest of their Open Air Season in the links below. WTJU spoke with rising stars […]

  • New Jazz Adds – 6/15/2021

    New Jazz News – 6/15/2021 Dave Bass – The Trio, Vol. 1 (Self-produced): “This Cincinnati Kid attended Berklee, studied with the legendary Madame Chaloff gleaning an exquisite touch on piano and an appreciation for the spirituality of music. He also opened for Captain Beefheart, studied composition with George Russell, and toured the world with Brenda […]

  • Legendary Memphis drummer Howard Grimes calls in to Soulful Situation on Monday, June 21

    On Monday, June 21 at 12:30 p.m., the Rum Cove welcomes two special guests to WTJU’s Soulful Situation: Preston Loauterbach, author of The Chitlin Circuit and the Road to Rock and Roll and Beale Street Dynasty, will be interviewing Howard “Bulldog” Grimes. Grimes, now 80 years old, is a legendary Memphis drummer and author of […]