Anne-Marie McDermott continues superb Mozart series

Anne-Marie McDermott has a very distinctive playing style, especially with Mozart. It’s delicate without being dainty. It’s expressive while neither being too emotive nor overly reserved.

McDermott’s playing embodies what I like to think Mozart’s intentions were. But it’s playing that goes deeper than the notes.

McDermott’s own personality makes these oh-so-familiar works sound fresh and innovative.

For volume three, McDermott performs two Mozart piano concertos. The Concerto no. 14 in E-flat major, K. 449 was written in 1784. It’s considered the first of his mature concertos.

The second concerto is his last, the Concerto No. 27 in B-flat, K. 595. The two works neatly bookend Mozart’s mature period. Both upend audience expectations of the day. And yet these surprises sound both logical and inevitable.

McDermott’s performances are first-rate. Her phrasing, especially in the B-flat concerto is exquisite. In other words, this release matches the high standards set by the previous two.

Highly recommended.

Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Piano Concertos, Vol. 3, K. 449, K. 595
Anne-Marie McDermott, piano
Odense Symphoniorkester; Sebastian Lang-Lessing, conductor
Bridge Records 9538

Tags: , , , , , , ,


Become a Sponsor

Underwriting WTJU is a way to broadly share information about your business. It’s also a way for your business or organization to gain community-wide recognition for your support of WTJU’s community mission.

Underwrite a Program


Your gift nourishes our community and helps bring people together through music.

Underwrite a Program