Von Reznicek Violin Concerto – Post-romantic goodness

In 1928, musicologist Alfred Einstein named the three leading German composers of their generation: Richard Strauss, Hans Pfitzner, and Emil Nikolaus von Reznicek. While Strauss’ compositions entered the basic repertoire, those of Pfitzner and von Reznicek didn’t fare as well.

And that’s too bad. All three composers wrote in a lush, post-romantic style and yet each one had a distinctive voice. This recording focuses on von Reznicek’s compositions from 1903 to 1918 — approximately the time period of Strauss’ most popular tone poems and early operas.

Von Reznicek’s music compares favorably to that of his colleague. Strauss’ music has a brashness to it as if the young composer wanted to show off his talents. Von Reznicek, on the other hand, shows his talent in a different way. The brilliant orchestrations and rich harmonies support a mordant sense of humor. It’s dry, witty, and can be easy to miss at times.

His 1900 work Wie Till Eulenspiegel lebte features the same German folk figure as Strauss’ tone poem. It’s a high-energy work, but the humor is less anarchic. But it’s there, making this a delightful overture that works on its own merits.

In 1903, von Reznicek met Gustav Mahler, and you can hear some of that influence in his Goldpirol – Idyllic Overture. While the development of the motifs is similar to Mahler, the orchestration is somewhat lighter, making this a charming work, rather than one that plumbs the depths of humanity.

The high point of the release is von Reznicek’s 1918 violin concerto, a work with a somewhat tortured history. Von Reznicek turned to Haydn for inspiration, creating a concerto where the soloist and ensemble are a team, rather than set in opposition to each other. Some critics thought it sounded more like Mendelssohn than Brahms. The 15th-century folk tune rises to the surface in the finale adds an element of fun.

If you find Strauss too overbearing, and Pfitzner too staid, then I recommend giving this recording a listen. I think Von Reznicek’s a composer that deserves further exploration.

Emil Nikolaus von Reznicek: Violin Concerto in E major 
Goldpirol – Idyllische Ouvertüre; Wie Till Eulenspiegel lebte – Symphonic Interlude in the Form of an Overture; Prelude and Fugue for Orchestra in C minor; Konzertstück for Violin with Orchestral Accompaniment in E major; Nachtstück for Violin and Small Orchestra 
 Sophie Jaffé, Violin Rundfunk-Sinfonieorchester Berlin; Marcus Bosch, conductor
CPO 77-983-2

More Recent Posts

  • Check out these WTJU panel discussions on June 5 & 12

    WTJU is pleased to host Radio Talks, a two-part series of music-related panel discussions this June featuring current and former WTJU hosts. These include: RADIO TALKS: The state of WTJU (and good music) in a pandemic Friday, June 5, 4 – 5 p.m. REGISTER HERE FM radio is remarkably resilient technology. It’s easy, it’s free, […]

  • Bruce Molsky returns to Quarantine (Happy Hour), May 28

    Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

    Bruce Molsky put on an online concert May 19 in support of Food Bank of the Hudson Valley as part of the Quarantine Happy Hour produced by the Horsenecks (Barry Southern & Gabrielle Macrae). WTJU will re-air that concert this Thursday afternoon at 5:30 (eastern) for all to hear (again) during Folk & Beyond (heard […]

  • Opera and the Arts in the Age of Novel Coronavirus

    Tags: , ,

    The world is suffering through a terrible pandemic, the most catastrophic in a century. Apart from the impact the virus has had on public health, the effect on the arts, particularly the performing arts, has been devastating. Museums and performing venues have closed, performances have been canceled, and the very survival of arts organizations has […]

  • Calling all podcasters! Intro workshop + makers meetup on June 6

    You’re intrigued by podcasts. You like good stories. You’ve been thinking it could be cool to produce a podcast. Or maybe you’ve been producing a podcast for a while, and you’re looking for a little lift to keep your creative juices flowing? Virginia Audio Collective is WTJU’s community podcast network. Join us on Saturday, June 6 for […]

  • New Blues News – 5/26/2020

    New Blues News – 5/26/2020 Jim Gustin & Truth Jones – Lessons Learned (Self-produced): Jim Gustin and Truth Jones (Jeri Goldenhar) offer their third release – eleven originals which share their lessons and reactions from the “lessons they have learned”. Their singing is straight ahead in a declarative style to assure that the messages are […]