WTJU 91.1 FM wins four Alliance for Community Media national awards

WTJU is pleased to announce that the radio station is the winner of four Hometown Media Awards from the Alliance for Community Media, including Best Radio DJ of the Year.

“Week in, week out, WTJU’s volunteers and staff use radio and podcasts to bring people together and nourish our community,” said Nathan Moore, WTJU General Manager. “While we do this work because of our passion for it, it’s also awesome to be recognized with these national awards.”

The Alliance for Community Media advocates and promotes media training & production, civic engagement, and education in support of diverse community voices. Each year, nearly 1,000 entries are submitted to ACM’s Hometown Media Awards program. Awards recognize community radio & public access TV programs that address community needs, develop diverse community involvement, and challenge conventional media formats.

WTJU’s winning entries include:

Soulful Situation (Mondays 12 – 2 p.m.) as the Best Radio DJ of the Year
Host: “The Rum Cove”

Inside UVA: “Rita Dove” as the Best Educational Profile (Community Radio)
Host: UVA Pres. Jim Ryan; Producer: Mary Garner McGehee

Symposia: “Matriculation” as the Best Educational Activities (Community Radio)
Host & Producer: Sage Tanguay”

Circle of Willis: “Halloween Special” as the Best Documentary Biography (Community Radio)
Host: UVA Prof. Jim Coan; Producer: Sage Tanguay

Listen to “Soulful Situation” on Mondays 12 – 2 p.m. Listen to the other winning pieces here:

wtju · Alliance for Community Media – WTJU Awards 2023

Become a Sponsor

Underwriting WTJU is a way to broadly share information about your business. It’s also a way for your business or organization to gain community-wide recognition for your support of WTJU’s community mission.

Underwrite a Program


Your gift nourishes our community and helps bring people together through music.

Underwrite a Program