Villa-Lobos Symphonic Cycle Ends at Beginning

Naxos completes their cycle of Villa-Lobos symphonies by starting at the beginning. This final installment features Symphonies Nos. 1 and 2. Both are early works, and both are strongly influenced by Vincent d’Indy.

Villa-Lobos studied in France and used d’Indy’s book on composition as a guide. His first symphony, completed in 1916 bears a strong resemblance to d’Indy’s symphonic writing. And yet there’s something unique here.

Villa-Lobos was trying to express something cosmic with this work. As he wrote, “the soul of the artist, with the blaze of his own light that emanates from him – glimpses, through a subtle and ethereal crystal, a vast landscape.”

He mostly succeeds in expressing this vision. The music has a light, ethereal quality to it. The third movement actually reminded me a little of Holst’s “Mercury” movement from “The Planets” with its quick splashes of orchestral color.

Villa-Lobos composed his second symphony before hearing his first performed. Nevertheless, the style of the work seems more mature. There’s still a French element to the work, but Villa-Lobos’s own voice is stronger. The title “Ascensão” (Ascending) refers to the opening four-note upward-pointing motif. Villa-Lobos builds the entire work on that motif. The symphony is a tightly-woven whole, a work that logically progresses from start to finish.

Great music knows no borders. I think, though, that the São Paulo Symphony Orchestra brings something special to the music of their countryman. That shared heritage gives these symphonies an extra lift.

With this release, all of Villa-Lobos’ surviving symphonies are available in first-rate performances. Collect them all.

Heitor Villa-Lobos
Symphony No. 1 ‘O Imprevisto’; Symphony No. 2 ‘Ascensão’
São Paulo Symphony Orchestra; Isaac Karabtchevsky, conductor

More Recent Posts

  • Joseph Bodin de Boismortier Chamber Music all business

    Tags: , , , , , ,

    Sometimes it’s easy to forget that music is a business — even classical music. It’s something Joseph Bodin de Boismortier always remembered. And it made him wealthy. Boismortier was active in the early 1700s and a contemporary of Rameau. He was one of the first composers to be successful without a patron. Louis XV granted […]

  • Dec 19: WTJU Holiday Party and Vinyl Takeover at Potters Craft Cider

    Come celebrate the season with your favorite community radio station! On Thursday, December 19th, 6 – 9 p.m., WTJU is taking over Potter’s Craft Cider, at their grand new tasting room at 1350 Arrowhead Valley Rd, just a few minutes south of Charlottesville on Route 29. This year’s WTJU Holiday Party coincides with our Vinyl Takeover series, […]

  • The Celebratory Suites of Pancho Vladigerov

    Tags: , ,

    In Bulgaria, Pancho Vladigerov is almost considered the founder of classical music. Like Bedrich Smetana and Antonin Dvorak, he deftly blended his country’s folk music with Western classical traditions. And like those composers, he created music of both national and international appeal. The characteristic odd meters of Slavic folk music gives Vladigerov’s compositions a bubbling […]

  • Angela on the Arts stops by All That Jazz, Dec 5

    Trumpeter John D’earth and bass clarinetist Michelle Oliva will join Rus Perry on All That Jazz to present their new release “Within.”  Together with violist Bonnie Gordon, D’earth and Oliva make up the improvisational trio Angela On The Arts.

  • New Jazz Adds – 12/3/2019

    New Jazz Adds – 12/3/2019 Darren Barrett – The EVI Sessions – Mr. Steiner (Self-produced): “On Mr. Steiner, Barrett delves into the world of synthesis guru Nyle Steiner, credited for the invention of the EVI (Electronic Valve Instrument) as well as the EWI (Electronic Wind Instrument), made popular by saxophonist Michael Brecker. Created in the 70s, the […]

  • New Blues & Soul Adds – 12/3/2019

    New Blues & Soul Adds – 12/3/2019 New Blues: Diane Blue – Look For The Light (Regina Royale Records): “Ms. Blue is a soul-stirring vocalist, skillful harmonica player whose powerful delivery of Soul, Blues & R&B is captivating. Her performances are charismatic and heartfelt, whether fronting her own world-class band or singing alongside master Bluesman Ronnie […]