New Blues News – 1/21/2020

New Blues News – 1/21/2020

Bywater Call – Bywater Call (Gypsy Soul): “Harnessing the sounds of southern soul, gospel and blues, Bywater is lead by the raw, powerful vocals of Meghan Parnell. With elements of jam bands, traditional blues, soul and rock and roll, with touches of New Orleans, Alabama and small town Ontario, with influences from The Band to Duane Allman to Aretha Franklin to Otis Redding to Elmore James, with solid musicianship based in jazz, and with gritty, raw and emotional vocals….” ( In addition to Parnell, the band members are Dave Barnes (guitar), Stephen Dyte (trumpet), Bruce McCarthy (drums), Mike Meusel (bass), Julian Nalli (tenor & bari guitar) and Alan Zemaitis (keys). All of the songs are originals. Parnell is reminiscent of Bonnie Raitt. Just enough gospel edge. Solid throughout! Click here to listen to a song from this disc.

Jeff Chaz – No Paint (JCP): Music has been the center of Jeff Chaz’ live. This appears to be his sixth release, but that may not be a complete list. He has a gruff voice and plays in a guitar style that suits. He has a rhythm section that includes Augie Joachim (bass) and Rick Jones (drums). Nine of the ten songs are originals. Click here to listen to samples of the songs on this disc.

Betty Fox Band – Peace In Pieces (Self-produced): “Peace in Pieces, the Betty Fox Band’s long awaited 3rd studio release, is a 13 song soul-infused masterpiece featuring 12 original songs and one spiritual. It was recorded at the legendary FAME Studios in Muscle Shoals, AL with none other than Spooner Oldham on Wurlitzer, and the FAME horn section and backing vocals. The album features major cowriting contributor Josh Nelms on guitar, Barry Williams on bass, Chris Peet on drums (with Jake Winebrenner on the last cut), and the legendary Clayton Ivey on piano and Organ. Betty Fox’s vocals soar as these musicians lay down a heavy groove, and their inherent soul is contagious…. Betty Fox is not only a charismatic and magnetic entertainer, but she also wrote and/or co-wrote all lyrics and music on the album including horn production and backing vocals.” ( Brad Guib plays plays sax and Ken Watters (trumpet) as well. Click here to listen to the title song on this disc.

The Jimmys – Gotta Have It (Jimmys Brown Cow Productions): The Jimmys are back with a new set of jumping blues that require your toes to tap and your hands to slap. This is straight ahead rocking blues: thirteen great original songs that are both fun and infectious. No histrionics, but great music from start to finish. The band features Jimmy Voegeli (vocals, piano, Hammond B3, clavinet); Perry Weber (vocals, guitar); Peterson Ross (sax); John Wartenweiler (bass); Kevan Feyzi (trombone); Mike Boman and Kurt Shipe (trumpet); Tony Braunagel (drums); Kyle Samuelson (trombone); Al Falaschi (bari sax); Wally Ongram (percussion); and Marcia Ball, Melodye Perry, and Mike Finnegan (backing vocals). The basic ingredient is having fun. Click here and scroll down to listen to three songs from this release.

Jimmy Johnson – Every Day Of Your Life (Delmark): Veteran Jimmy Johnson (guitar, vocal) has been performing since 1959 and is now one of the few Chicago blues veterans alive. He performs with two different bands on this disc: Rico McFarland (guitar), Roosevelt Purifoy (piano, B3), J.R. Fuller (bass) and Pooky Styx (drums) alterante with Brother John Kattke (piano, B3, guitar), Curt Bley (bass) and Ernie Adams (drums). Julia A. Miller and Elbio Barilari add vocals on one song. Johnson also closes out with a solo singing and playing the piano. Johnson’s straightforward guitar style is uniquely unadorned. Click here to listen to the title song.


Professor Bebop

More Recent Posts