Ignaz Brüll – Orchestral Works; Brahms’ Friend in the Spotlight

Moravian composer Ignaz Brüll (1846-1907) moved to Vienna in 1856. He was an accomplished composer and pianist and was well-known for both talents. Brüll was a close friend of Brahms. Brahms’ symphonies were often first heard in two-piano arrangements — with Brahms and Brüll at the keyboards.

Although quite successful during his lifetime, his music declined in popularity after his death. Because of his Jewish background, the Nazis tried to erase Brüll from music history altogether. Only recently has his music enjoyed renewed interest and performances.

So what’s it like? This adventurous collection from Cameo gives a fair representation. The shorter works are perhaps the most successful. The “Macbeth” Overture of 1884 is a thrilling eight-minute work that conveys the turbulent nature of the drama.

The Serenade No. 1 Op.29 was Brüll’s first hit (as it were). This 1877 work is chock-full of appealing melodies, orchestrated in light textures. It reminded me somewhat of Mendelssohn’s music.

The second serenade in E-flat major is equally delightful. The harmonies are a little thicker than the first. But that hint of Mendelssohn remains. keeping the music light and charming.

The large-scale works show some Brahmsian influence, I think. Although that influence is more along the lines of structure, rather than sound. Brüll’s Symphony in E minor is laid out in proper four-movement form. Brüll uses his material effectively, developing ideas in logical, easy-to-follow lines.

For me, the best work was the Violin Concerto. It was written for Johann Lauterbach, who must have been a ferocious talent, judging by the solo part. While there are plenty of fireworks, there’s also some solid music-making here, too. The slow movement is so poignantly beautiful, I’m surprised it’s not played more often.

Violinist Ilya Hoffmann delivers a wonderful performance. His playing has an expressiveness to it that’s pure Romanticism. His performance of the middle movements matches the beauty of the music. And that’s saying something.

Both the Malta Philharmonic Orchestra and the Belarusian State Symphony perform well. The audience for the BSS was a little noisy, but not terribly so.

An excellent collection of an overlooked composer. And, judging by the quality of the compositions, an unjustly overlooked one at that.

Ignaz Brüll: Orchestral Works
Overture “Macbeth,” Serenades Nos. 1 and 2, Violin Concerto, Symphony in E minor
Ilya Hoffmann, violin; Malta Philharmonic Orchestra; Belarusian State Symphony Orchestra; Marius Stravinsky, Michael Laus, conductors
Cameo Classics CC9103

2 CD Set

More Recent Posts

  • New Blues & Soul News – 7/16/2019

    New Blues News – 7/16/2019 Tullie Brae – Revelation (Endless Blues): Tullie Brae is a confident and expressive singer who wrote the ten songs on this disc and also plays Hammond keys and piano and plays some slide. She is backed up by Jeff Jensen (guitar, hand claps), Bill Ruffino (bass), David Green (drums) and […]

  • New Jazz Adds – 7/16/2019

    New Jazz Adds – 7/16/2019 Anat Cohen Tentet – Triple Helix (Anzic): “Anat does what all authentic musicians do: She tells stories from her own experiences that are so deeply felt that they are very likely to connect listeners to their own dreams, desires and longings.” (Nat Hentoff) “Anat has been declared Clarinetist of the […]

  • Józef Elsner String Quartets Worth Exploring

    Tags: , , , , ,

    Józef Elsner was one of the most important composers in early 19th Century Poland. He wrote 38 operas, eight symphonies, over 70 masses, and oratorios, dozens of chamber works, and more. Yet he’s remembered for one thing: he was Fredrick Chopin’s piano teacher. This release helps remove Elsner from his famous pupil’s shadow. The Op. […]

  • #ClassicsaDay Revisits #NAFTAclassics – Week 2

    Tags: , , , , , , , ,

    The Classics a Day team is made up of American and Canadians. The month of July has important national holidays for both countries. And so the theme for July is the music of North America. (Mexico doesn’t have a major holiday in July, but we decided to be inclusive).  In my posts for #ClassicsaDay I […]

  • Johnny B & The Goodes at Offbeat Roadhouse, July 19

    Blues harp legend Johnny B delivers The Goodes to Offbeat Roadhouse on Friday night, July 19, from 8-9 for a concert which will also be broadcast on WTJU. Sure you could listen on the radio (91.1 FM) or on-line, and even video stream it, but concerts always sound better with you as part of the studio audience. Offbeat Roadhouse takes […]

  • Johann Wilhelm Wilms Piano Quartets receive their due

    Tags: , , , , , ,

    Johann Wilhelm Wilms (1772-1847) only wrote two piano quartets (that we know of), and they conveniently fit on one CD. German-born Wilms was a major musical figure in the Netherlands As a contemporary of Beethoven, his fame remained more regional than international. A contemporary reviewer called Wilms a “practiced composer versed in compositional technique.” That’s […]