Explosive performance of Allan Pettersson Violin Concerto

You could consider Swedish composer Allan Pettersson a musician’s musician. His symphonies, though rarely performed in concert halls, are considered ground-breaking masterworks.

Since 2009 maestro Christian Lindberg has been moving through Pettersson’s orchestral catalog. This release is but the latest in his string of outstanding Pettersson recordings.

The official title of the major work on this album is Concerto No. 2 for Violin and Orchestra. But as with Pettersson’s symphonies, it doesn’t easily fall into its designated category. Originally Petterson conceived the work as a symphony, with the first violinist doubling as soloist.

Unlike a traditional concerto, the soloist isn’t always the star. Sometimes the violin plays with the strings, blending into the ensemble. As Pettersson wrote, “this work is a matter of lengthy, expansive sections that frequently resolve themselves in eruptions.”

And how! Solo violinist Ulf Wallin and the Norrköping Symphony Orchestra play with almost unrelenting intensity. But that’s necessary to bring about the effect Pettersson’s after. From the opening notes to the final cadence, the music keeps driving forward, almost compulsively so.

It’s a challenging work for the performers, and for the listener. Pettersson’s music commands your full attention. And it’s definitely worth the effort.

Also included is the fragment of Pettersson’s Symphony No. 17. It’s one of the last things he wrote. To my ears, it’s analogous to Beethoven shaking his fist at the thunderstorm on his deathbed. The fragment is as full of intense energy as any of his completed works.

Highly recommended — as are all of Lindberg’s Pettersson recordings.

Allan Pettersson: Concerto No. 2 for Violin and Orchestra
Symphony No 17 (fragment)
Ulf Wallin, violin
Norrköping Symphony Orchestra; Christian Lindberg, conductor
BIS 2290

More Recent Posts

  • 44 Trumpet Master Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah – Looking Forward

    Tags: , , , ,

    Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah Since he began recording at nineteen, now thirty-eight year old Christian Scott ATunde Adjuah has been developing one of the most distinguishable trumpet sounds in jazz or as he prefers “creative improvised music.” A nephew of alto saxophonist Donald Harrison, Jr., he is graduate of the storied New Orleans Center for […]

  • New Blues News – 6/15/2021

    New Blues News – 6/15/2021 Caroline Dahl – A Boogie Woogie State Of Mind (Self-produced): Pianist Caroline Dahl is a native of Kentucky but has made San Francisco her home for thirty years, playing both solo and in bands. On her latest disc she is joined by a slew of Bay Area stalwarts, including two […]

  • Classical Interviews – Broadway in the Park

    Charlottesville Opera performed Broadway favorites like ‘Dear Evan Hansen’ and ‘From My Fair Lady’ on Saturday, June 12th. Sharin Apostolou, a greek-american soprano and Charlottesville Opera’s Ader Artist-in-Residence, tells us about the event. She spoke to WTJU about the cast’s backgrounds, the shift back to in-person performances, and the Open Air Season. The Open Air […]

  • Classical Interviews – Opera In The Park

    Charlottesville Opera presents Opera in the Park this week as as part of their 43rd Summer Season. Grab a ticket to hear 10 young artists preform the world’s greatest opera hits on June 17th at 7pm and check out the rest of their Open Air Season in the links below. WTJU spoke with rising stars […]

  • New Jazz Adds – 6/15/2021

    New Jazz News – 6/15/2021 Dave Bass – The Trio, Vol. 1 (Self-produced): “This Cincinnati Kid attended Berklee, studied with the legendary Madame Chaloff gleaning an exquisite touch on piano and an appreciation for the spirituality of music. He also opened for Captain Beefheart, studied composition with George Russell, and toured the world with Brenda […]

  • Legendary Memphis drummer Howard Grimes calls in to Soulful Situation on Monday, June 21

    On Monday, June 21 at 12:30 p.m., the Rum Cove welcomes two special guests to WTJU’s Soulful Situation: Preston Loauterbach, author of The Chitlin Circuit and the Road to Rock and Roll and Beale Street Dynasty, will be interviewing Howard “Bulldog” Grimes. Grimes, now 80 years old, is a legendary Memphis drummer and author of […]