The ethereal beauty of Peteris Vasks Viola Concerto

Peteris Vasks is one of my favorite contemporary composers. He has a distinctive voice, and his works always deliver emotionally (to me, anyway). The two compositions on this release are no exception — though they are exceptional.

The Concerto for Viola and String Orchestra was written in 2014 and premiered by its dedicatee, Maxim Rysanov. Rysanov is both the soloist and conductor for this world premiere recording.

In the concerto, Vasks plays to his strengths. The music slowly swirls in gossamer strands, coalescing from time to time for greater emotional impact. Vasks also weaves in folk-like melodies that temporarily ground the music.

How best to describe this work? Imagine if Arvo Part had rewritten Ralph Vaughan William’s “Flos Campi.” The viola is the center of the work, fluttering through the orchestra’s sound cloud like a butterfly. Maxim Rysanov’s playing gets to the emotional center of Vasks’ music. At times it’s almost heartbreakingly beautiful.

Also included is Vasks’ First Symphony, “Voices.” While the composer’s style is consistent between the two works, it’s easy to hear the growth between the two works. The music closely followed the movement titles: voices of silence, voices of life, voices of conscience. The sound clouds in this work aren’t as transparent as they are in the concerto.

The “silence” movement features hushed strings, often playing harmonics. The second (“life”) is full of conflict, with clumps of instruments grinding against each other. “Conscience” begins with small motifs that bubble up, eventually coming together in an insistent tutti. The work then slowly descends back into a semblance of “silence.”

The Sinfonietta Riga turn in some tremendous performances. Vasks’ music is one of subtle and often delicate changes. The orchestra plays with sympathy and precision. That precision ensures the effect Vasks wants comes through unmarred. There’s nothing to distract the listener from the pure emotion of the music.

This is an SACD recording and for good reason. To truly appreciate Vasks’ music you have to hear all the details. If you don’t buy a physical disc, be sure to download this music at the highest resolution possible. It matters.

Peteris Vasks: Concerto for Viola and String Orchestra
Symphony for Strings “Voices”
Maxim Rysanov, viola and conductor; Sinfonietta Riga

More Recent Posts

  • 44 Trumpet Master Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah – Looking Forward

    Tags: , , , ,

    Christian Scott aTunde Adjuah Since he began recording at nineteen, now thirty-eight year old Christian Scott ATunde Adjuah has been developing one of the most distinguishable trumpet sounds in jazz or as he prefers “creative improvised music.” A nephew of alto saxophonist Donald Harrison, Jr., he is graduate of the storied New Orleans Center for […]

  • New Blues News – 6/15/2021

    New Blues News – 6/15/2021 Caroline Dahl – A Boogie Woogie State Of Mind (Self-produced): Pianist Caroline Dahl is a native of Kentucky but has made San Francisco her home for thirty years, playing both solo and in bands. On her latest disc she is joined by a slew of Bay Area stalwarts, including two […]

  • Classical Interviews – Broadway in the Park

    Charlottesville Opera performed Broadway favorites like ‘Dear Evan Hansen’ and ‘From My Fair Lady’ on Saturday, June 12th. Sharin Apostolou, a greek-american soprano and Charlottesville Opera’s Ader Artist-in-Residence, tells us about the event. She spoke to WTJU about the cast’s backgrounds, the shift back to in-person performances, and the Open Air Season. The Open Air […]

  • Classical Interviews – Opera In The Park

    Charlottesville Opera presents Opera in the Park this week as as part of their 43rd Summer Season. Grab a ticket to hear 10 young artists preform the world’s greatest opera hits on June 17th at 7pm and check out the rest of their Open Air Season in the links below. WTJU spoke with rising stars […]

  • New Jazz Adds – 6/15/2021

    New Jazz News – 6/15/2021 Dave Bass – The Trio, Vol. 1 (Self-produced): “This Cincinnati Kid attended Berklee, studied with the legendary Madame Chaloff gleaning an exquisite touch on piano and an appreciation for the spirituality of music. He also opened for Captain Beefheart, studied composition with George Russell, and toured the world with Brenda […]

  • Legendary Memphis drummer Howard Grimes calls in to Soulful Situation on Monday, June 21

    On Monday, June 21 at 12:30 p.m., the Rum Cove welcomes two special guests to WTJU’s Soulful Situation: Preston Loauterbach, author of The Chitlin Circuit and the Road to Rock and Roll and Beale Street Dynasty, will be interviewing Howard “Bulldog” Grimes. Grimes, now 80 years old, is a legendary Memphis drummer and author of […]