Alexander Moyzes Symphonies Nos. 5 & 6 – Popular reissues

This third volume of Alexander Moyzes symphonies features two of his most popular symphonies.

Symphony No. 5 was dedicated to Moyzes father. Mikuláš Moyzes (1872–1944) was an early pioneer in creating a national style of classical composition. Alexander Moyzes demonstrates his mastery of this concept with this work.

The symphony uses elements of his father’s “Little Mountain Symphony.” Moyzes also uses the structure of Eastern Slovak folk dance, expanded to symphonic proportions. The result is a work that sparkles and dances. Its folk elements, while sublimated, still made it a popular work in Slovakia.

Several Moyzes’ major works are recycled from earlier efforts. His 1951 Symphony No. 6 uses material from his 1934 Concertino — which had been reclaimed from an even earlier abandoned piano concerto. Nevertheless, the symphony stands on its own merits. The material brings folk elements to the foreground in an appealing manner.

Of special note is the Largo, the middle of the five movements and the longest. Moyzes gives free rein to his melodies, creating a work of exceptional lyrical beauty.

Ladislav Slovák and the Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra deliver fine performances. They understand the nationalistic subtext of Moyzes’ music, and subtly — and effectively — lean into it. The performances help us hear the uniqueness of Moyze’s style — and its appeal.

Alexander Moyzes: Symphonies Nos. 5 and 6
Slovak Radio Symphony Orchestra; Ladislav Slovák, conductor
Naxos 8.573652

More Recent Posts

  • Classical Interviews – Arthur Zanin

    Charlottesville Symphony’s Principal Trumpet, Arthur Zanin, spoke with WTJU about discovering their orchestral passion, the versatility of the trumpet, and the significance of music in education. For more on Arthur Zanin, For more on the Charlottesville Symphony, visit: How I found the Orchestra The Different Sounds of the Trumpet Practicing for Trumpet The […]

  • Eric Coates Orchestral Works, Vol. 2 continues to entertain

    Tags: , , , , , , ,

    This release picks up where the first volume left off. It’s another collection of wonderful music by Eric Coates. Coates’ output was fairly consistent. it’s instantly appealing, modest in scope, and always effective in entertaining the listener. This release includes popular favorites such as “London Bridge,” and “Calling All Workers.” The cornerstones of the program […]

  • New Jazz Adds – 1/12/2021

    New Jazz Adds – 1/12/2021 Craig Brenner – Passages (Self-produced): “Craig Brenner explores the jazzy side of blues and boogie woogie piano. Called “a fine and funky pianist” by Living Blues, Craig has received multiple Indiana Arts Commission grants and he has been voted “Best Musician” in Bloomington, IN, in the Bloomington Independent; Craig & The Crawdads has […]

  • New Blues News – 1/12/2021

    New Blues News – 1/12/2021 John Fusco & The X-Road Riders – John The Revelator (Self-produced): “More than three decades after a teenaged Fusco ran away from his New England home to Louisiana and the Mississippi Delta — returning with a semi-autobiographical screenplay called Crossroads (and an unlikely discovery as a Hollywood screenwriter) — the […]